Today (14th December 2011) at 13.30 hrs., Clinical Professor Udom  Kachintorn, Dean of Faculty of Medicine Siriraj Hospital, Mahidol University, in the capacity of Vice President of the Prince Mahidol Award Foundation, Mr.Thani Thongphakdi, Director-General of the Department of Information, in the capacity of the Chairman of the Sub-Committee on Public Relations of the Prince Mahidol Award Foundation, and Professor Vicharn Panich, Chairman of the International Award Committee of the Prince Mahidol Award Foundation, held a press conference to announce the 20th  Prince Mahidol Award for the year 2011 at the Prince Mahidol Museum, 2nd Floor, Syamindra Building, Siriraj Hospital.
         The Prince Mahidol Award Foundation of which H.R.H. Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn is the President, has decided to confer this year’s Prince Mahidol Award in the field of medicine to Professor Aaron T. Beck and Dr. David T. Wong. In the field of public health, the Prince Mahidol Award is conferred to Dr. Ruth F. Bishop.
        There are a total of 76 nominations from 45 countries.  The Scientific Advisory Committee carefully screened all candidates from the year 2011, 2010, and 2009 and then submitted a short list of the candidates to the International Award Committee who scrutinized and made a recommendation to the Board of Trustees.  H.R.H. Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn presided over the meeting of the Board of Trustees on 11th  November 2011 in which the final decision on the Prince Mahidol Award 2011 was made.  In the past 19 years, 59 individuals, groups of individuals, and institutions have received the Prince Mahidol Award. Among them, two subsequently received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, namely Professor Dr. Barry James Marshall and Professor Dr. Harald zur Hausen. Two Thai had received the Prince Mahidol Award in 1996, they were Professor Prasong  Tuchinda and Professor Suchitra Nimmannitya and two more in 2009: Dr.Wiwat  Rojanapithayakorn and Mr.Mechai  Viravaidya.
         The Prince Mahidol Award Foundation under the Royal Patronage was established in commemoration of the centenary of the birth of His Royal Highness Prince Mahidol of Songkla, on January 1, 1992.  The Foundation is under Royal Patronage, with Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn as president.   The Foundation annually confers two Prince Mahidol Awards upon individual(s) or institution(s), which have demonstrated outstanding and exemplary contributions to the advancement of the world’s medical and public health services. Each Award consists of a medal, a certificate and a sum of US $100,000. 
          Their Majesties the King and Queen of Thailand have graciously designated Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn  to preside over the Presentation Ceremony of the Prince Mahidol Award 2011 at the Chakri Throne hall on January 25, 2012 at 17.30 hours.  Prior to the Ceremony, Siriraj Hospital, as a founder of the Prince Mahidol Award Foundation, will invite the 2011 Prince Mahidol Awardees to give lectures based on their achievement on January 24, 2012.